Please reference the Virginia Code Section 18.2-308.01, et seq, for the laws governing concealed handguns. Visit the Department of State Police website for helpful information.
Application for a new or renewal Permit may be submitted electronically by using the LINK at the top of the page or by using the concealed handgun Permit Kiosks in our office located in Building 10, 3rd Floor, 2425 Nimmo Parkway, Virginia Beach, VA 23456.
Applications are received by the Virginia Beach Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, and they are reviewed by the Virginia Beach Police Department. The Court requires the applicant to provide proof of in-person competence with a handgun as provided in § 18.2-308.02(B). The final decision to issue the Permit is made by a Circuit Court Judge.
First-Time Permit Applicants
While you can apply for the Permit online, all first-time applicants who are approved MUST pick up the Permit IN PERSON at the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. A $50 fee applies.
Persons who have previously held a Virginia resident concealed handgun Permit shall be issued, upon receipt by the Circuit Court of criminal history record information, a new 5-year Permit unless it is found that the applicant is subject to any of the disqualifications set forth in Code 18.2-308.09. The same $50 fee applies to Renewals as to New Permits. Persons who previously have been issued a concealed handgun Permit shall not be required to appear in person to pick up the new 5-year Permit, it will be mailed to you unless the applicant prefers to pick up the Permit in person.
Replacement of a Lost or Damaged Permit or Replacement Permit for Name Change
If you need to replace your Permit because the original has been lost, destroyed, or damaged, or you may have had a name change since permit was issued, you must.
The form is also available at the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office:
- Personally appear at the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, 3rd Floor, Building 10.
- You must present a picture I.D. (i.e. driver’s license or government-issued ID).
- For name change, you must present legal name change documents.
- Pay a fee of $5 for replacement.
Submit a form with a $5 check or money order payable to Va. Beach Circuit Court Clerk. The Court will issue the replacement Permit within 10 business days of receiving the notarized statement and fee.
Replacement Permit For a Change of Address
The Court that issued the Permit may issue a replacement Permit specifying the Permit holder’s new address upon presentation by the Permit holder of the valid permit and written notice of a change of address on a form provided by the Virginia State Police Department. The Permit holder must surrender the current Permit before a replacement Permit is issued. The fee is $10 made payable to the Va. Beach Clerk’s Office.