A marriage license is issued by the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office of any city or county in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Marriage in this Commonwealth
Download and complete your Application for a Marriage License.
Certified copy of a marriage license
You may obtain a certified copy of a marriage license from the Circuit Court Clerk's Office that issued the marriage license. You may make the request in person or by mail. To request a certified copy of your marriage license by mail, complete the Certified Copy of Marriage License Form and mail it to:
Virginia Beach Circuit Court Clerk's Office
Attention Marriage Licenses
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456
Be sure to include the following when submitting the form to the Clerk's Office:
- The full name of both parties
- The date of the marriage
- The place of marriage
- A money order, certified check or in-state personal check, in the amount of $2.50 per EACH copy, made payable to the "Circuit Court Clerk"
- A self-addressed stamped envelope.
- License is issued by the Circuit Court Clerk of any city or county in the State of Virginia.
- Out-of-state residents may apply at any Clerk's Office throughout the State.
- The Virginia Beach Circuit Court Clerk's Office is located in Building 10B, 3rd Floor. ( must enter through Building 10 )
- The Virginia Beach Circuit Court Clerk's Office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 am until 4:00 pm. Please arrive by 3:30 pm to allow time to issue the marriage license.
- No blood tests or witnesses are required.
- The license must be used within 60 days of the date of issue or it will expire.
- Both parties must be present to obtain a marriage license.
- The Clerk's Office requires some form of identification from each person, such as a driver's license, military I.D., or passport.
- The fee for the license is $30. Cash or credit cards are accepted for payment, however, there is a fee of $2.00 when using a credit card.
- For divorced persons, there is no statutory waiting period before remarriage after the divorce is final unless remarriage is specifically prohibited by a Court. A copy of the divorce decree is not required when applying for a license.
A marriage entered into prior to the dissolution of an earlier marriage of one of the parties; (Virginia Code Section 20-38.1)
- A marriage between an ancestor and descendant, or between a brother and a sister, whether the relationship is by half or whole blood or by adoption; (Virginia Code Section 20-38.1)
- A marriage between an uncle and a niece or between an aunt and a nephew, whether the relationship is by half or whole blood; (Virginia Code Section 20-38.1)
- When either of the parties lacks the capacity to consent to the marriage because of mental incapacity or infirmity; (Virginia Code Section 20-43)
- Bigamous marriage; (Virginia Code Section 20-43)
The Virginia General Assembly is offering access to the Code of Virginia on the Internet as a service to the public. We are unable to assist users of this service with legal questions nor respond to requests for legal advice or the application of the law to specific facts. Therefore, to understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.
There is a person authorized to perform marriages on duty at the Virginia Beach Circuit Court Clerk's Office from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
They are located on the 3rd floor of building 10B directly across from the hall from the Marriage License Department.
You can get your license and get married on the same day. No appointments and no witnesses are needed.
Cameras and Phones are not allowed in the Building.
The persons authorized to perform the marriages charge $75 (cash only) for performing the marriage ceremony at the Clerk's Office. By the Code of Virginia, they are allowed to charge a fee of up to $75 plus travel expenses as they are available by appointment at the time and place of your choosing.
You need to contact them to schedule these arrangements for your ceremony if the ceremony is to take place somewhere other than the Clerk's Office. Again, no appointment is needed at the Clerk's Office.
You may contact any of the below-listed persons to perform a wedding ceremony at a location other than the Clerk's Office.